Where To Start To Become A Pentester?

Hello everyone, I’m totally new here, just figured out how to join the community. I’m so excited, but the problem is: I’m new to this field, I have no prior experience at all. I’m just a student at a university, my main major is Information Assurance. I’m very interested in ethical hacking right now, but I don’t know where to start, what things I have to learn. I hope you guys can give me some advice, is Udemy is good for learning these stuff? Thank you so much for spending your time with my stupid topic. I’m just a noob :frowning:

@grumpy8464 This is a good question - but I am not a pentester so I might not have any good answers for you.

The reality is the topic you are talking about is so huge, every answer is valid. You can pretty much start anywhere you want.

Some people start with networking, some start with application security, some will look at web protocols etc. Really it’s probably best to start with whatever you are interested in.

Hopefull keeping this bumped for a while will get better answers.

I’m definitely going to be following this post. Only because even with the experience I have and the certs that I currently hold. Even still it’s difficult to find work and sometimes resources in the field.

Focus on learning the root concepts and not specifics. For instance, don’t learn how to use a tool like SQLmap without understanding SQL injection itself and the data structure and implementation of SQL databases along with the nuances between each one.

I feel like a Udemy course on pentesting will try to teach you this rather than the underlying concepts. They will make it seems as though pentesting is a very binary “if x then y” when in reality its very dynamic and the hacker must make things up as the goes along, drawing on the concepts he already knows in order to apply them to the current problem.