What is your operating system to solve CTFs?

Hello, I’m a beginner solving CTFs and I’m a Linux user since 2015. I use windows just to play sometimes. I’m really frustrated because a lot of programs that people use to solve CTFs doesn’t work properly in kali Linux, for example, and probably in other distributions either. I’m talking about dnspy, ollydbg, ghidra and etc. I know that will have people that can use these programs without problems, however others not. For example, I did install ollydbg in kali linux via apt install ollydbg and when I tried to solve Bypass challenge I had a lot of problems with dlls missing. This problem specific is not the question, the question is that this in general make me lose a lot of time, so I went to windows and solve the ctf easily because on windows ollydbg works very well(and other programs too). So this make me think if you guys use more windows than kali linus(and others) to solve CTFs.

In my case its 80% Kali and about 20% windows.

I only use Windows but I also only attack Windows machines, so bear that in mind.

I know most people here prefer using Linux, but I haven’t seen anyone actually give any specific reasons for that or explain what advantage it gives them (when it comes to attacking windows machines anyway).

Don’t get me wrong there are definitely some advantages to using Linux for certain types of attacks in the real world, but so far in my time on HTB I haven’t encountered any Windows boxes here where there was any advantage to doing it from Linux. If anything it often seems to make it harder for people (going by what I’ve seen in comments and messages).

For some people though, that’s what they want. They want to force themselves to get more comfortable with Linux and figure out how to do everything from there even if it would have been quicker/easier from Windows. Each to their own :slight_smile: