Noob trying to hack

Hello all,
I’ve just begun to play around with Hack The Box. All these time i’ve just hacked vm that run on my laptop.

I’ve scanned the Cascade box and found 53,88,135,139,389,445,636 and couple of others to be open. I tried the eternal blue which we newbies always try first to exploit a box. That does not seem to be working.

Can somebody please help me get started with this ? Are these any specific skills required to do this ?

Yeah eternal blue wont work, it doesn’t work on newer windows versions like cascade. Cascade does require some skills to do it, I would really recommend starting with the easy boxes to gain a little more experience with htb boxes.When you feel good enough, up the level and switch to medium boxes and so on.

:slight_smile:

I am just beginning with ethical hacks. Any tutorials to know what exploit to use and how to identify them would really help.

Type your comment> @pktlyser said:

I am just beginning with ethical hacks. Any tutorials to know what exploit to use and how to identify them would really help.

Have you tried the starting point exercises yet? Those are specifically for beginners so probably best to start there before starting to attack the easy machines like Rocketeer mentioned

Type your comment> @absolutenoob said:

Have you tried the starting point exercises yet? Those are specifically for beginners so probably best to start there before starting to attack the easy machines like Rocketeer mentioned

Yeah true i forgot to mention the starting point machines, but aren’t the starting point machines only for VIP members or they are available for everyone?

@Rocketeer said:

Type your comment> @absolutenoob said:

Yeah true i forgot to mention the starting point machines, but aren’t the starting point machines only for VIP members or they are available for everyone?

I think it is a mix of both.