New to HTB...looking better understanding of goals

I am just getting started with HTB. I am playing around in Sauna right now. Looking over the website…im not sure what my challenge is suppose to be with this machine.

Doing some research I see there is supposedly a text file on a user account with a code or flag you can input for points…and another code on a root account…which im guessing is the admin account.

I would not have known about these with out seeing other people post and I dont want to tutorial walk through these without figure out atleast some of it on my own.

How would I have known that there was a user.txt file that had a code I need to get on this machine or is this the challenge on all the machines?

I have also run the nmap and scanned through and not gotten any decent info from that…so im looking down the ldap scanning path now, but im not sure if im chasing a red haring a this point. I know that is 90% of what pen testing is…but I dont want to get too frustrated just starting out or too overwhelmed trying to learn about all the tools.

Thanks for any clarification or guidance you can give on how to make the most of this application.

On all machines, there is a user.txt and a root.txt. Each of these files contains a short string that represents the so-called “flag”. These flags can then be submitted on the respective machines page at the HackTheBox website and “prove” that you gained access to user’s (or administrator’s) account. From submitting flags, you will earn points (depending on the level of the machine, and which of the 2 flags you submitted).