connection

Has anyone come across not being able to nmap scan machines. I have a VIP subscription and when I check access the lab access section says connected. However when I nmap I get a host seems down message. Anyone encountered this before?

@hussl3 said:

Has anyone come across not being able to nmap scan machines. I have a VIP subscription and when I check access the lab access section says connected. However when I nmap I get a host seems down message. Anyone encountered this before?

Have you activated the box?

@TazWake yep, the box was activated.

What is the output of tracert/traceroute to the host?

Type your comment> @TazWake said:

@TazWake
I get one line:
myIpAdress 0.021 ms 0.005 ms 0.004 ms

Type your comment

@hussl3 said:

Type your comment> @TazWake said:

@TazWake
I get one line:
myIpAdress 0.021 ms 0.005 ms 0.004 ms

Then that implies you dont have a network connection to the target.

@TazWake how can that be even though I’m getting Initialization Sequence Completed? When I run ifconfig I have a tun0 address.

@hussl3 I dont know how your system is configured so I cant really say for sure.

However the traceroute it dropped at your IP address, which means something is breaking the connection.

It could be a firewall, it could be a broken setting or lots of other things.

What happens when you ping -c3 IPADDRESS the box?

@TazWake PING 10.10.10.74 (10.10.10.74) 56(84) bytes of data. From 10.10.14.1 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable From 10.10.14.1 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable From 10.10.14.1 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable

@hussl3 all of this points to the network connection not working.

Check:

• You have a VIP / VIP+ ovpn file
  • Your VIP vpn is active
  • The machine has been started

If all that is correct then it might be a machine problem. Terminate 10.10.10.74 and try starting a different one. Wait 3-4 minutes then see if you can ping/traceroute to that.