Help me I'm a beginner lol

I have no idea how, but I somehow was able to get into HTB without any help, but I’m stuck on almost every box that I try. I started hacking a few months ago and so far I covered basic networking, nmap, metasploitable, netcat, burp suite and a few other tools. I already had a solid understanding of linux, and I am pretty comfortable with it, and I also tried some bug bounty in the past so I know a bit of basic web vulnerabilities. So I got kinda bored of practicing with metasploitable so I decided to try out HTB. I tried Buff as my first machine, and I spent well over 6 hours on it just trying to get into user, and I got in with some help from a few people from Discord. I’m gonna try to do some privilege escalation tomorrow as I spent way too much time on here for the day. Anyway, I heard this was a pretty easy machine to start out with, but holy ■■■■ was it hard. Does anyone have any tips for me, or anything that I should probably study before/as I continue with the rest of the boxes on here?

NO GOD NO STAY AWAY FROM THAT MACHINE

The priv esc does not work 99% of the time. There’s a reason the ratio of user to root owns is almost 3:1

As for learning the HtB flow check out Ippsec on YouTube, watch a couple videos and you should start getting comfortable with how the boxes work.

It sounds like you’re in the same spot as me when I started. The learning curve is high but if you stick with it you’ll get the hang of it. Only these past few months have I been able to do medium hard boxes on my own, and it sometimes takes me days while the best users here can do it under an hour. If it seems like there’s endless room for knowledge gaining…there is!

I second LMAY75’s Ippsec recommendation. He’s a great teacher who makes walkthough videos. Pick a few easier retired machines (you’ll need VIP) and search Ippsec {machine name} on youtube or go to ippsec.rocks